You

It feels just like yesterday . Two years have passed,and yet it seems as if time has stood still. 

On that day, the summer solstice, the clocks all conspired against us and sped up. It was the happiest day of my life, then and now.

I know I wasn’t ready. And I know neither of us knew what we were getting into. 

But it’s been worth it. And on my worst days, when I am a mess and ask if there are any regrets, we both say no.

Is the feeling mutual? Because I wouldn’t be here without you. These have been some of the most trying times of my life, and you’ve been my rock.

I’m not an easy person to love, but you make it look easy. Never have you raised your voice, let alone a hand. 

I know you would do anything for me, if I told you it was what I wanted. 

A year ago this was problematic. I knew how to work the system, so that things done out of love would help me hurt myself.

Honesty is a must. Love cannot be whole without it.

You’ve been here through some of my darkest moments. Ones I didn’t know if I would survive. 

There’s this way you have, of persuading me into calm. It’s like you’ve been here too, and you know the way out. You have the map and the route memorized.

I’d follow you anywhere, because I trust you. 

Of course we get annoyed. We don’t always agree. Life isn’t perfect, and neither are we.

I never was one to dream about white dresses and honeymoons. But I can say now I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Where would I be without you by my side? 

What an amazing, wonderful, challenging two years it’s been. Here’s to many more… 

Leave a Reply

