Emphasizing calories and sugar 

Ok, so today’s post is going to be really random, and worldly, but please hang in there. I have some important thoughts  to get out there, and I’d love to hear feedback and opinions. Seriously, the comment section is there for a reason.

Raise your hand if you were aware of the shenanigans that the FDA has been up to with nutrition fact labels. Yeah. I stumbled across an article in Time about this. Forgive any blurring, please.


You might be wondering why I’m upset about the above picture. 

Reason #1: “Some serving sizes have gotten bigger since the original labels were created. For example, a serving of ice cream is changing from 1/2 cup to 2/3 cup.” And above, in the introduction to this story, “And tweak serving sizes to be more in line with how much people are likely to eat on one serving.” Question…who only eats 2/3 cup or even 1/2 cup of ice cream? No one. Except for someone so obsessed with calorie counting, that they measure their food. And ok, I’m sure there are people who are satisfied with a 1/2 cup of ice cream but why not be realistic and go big or go home. Why not 1 cup? That sounds better to me, but maybe I’m in the minority. 


Reason #2: “The total  number of calories will increase from around an 8-point font size to at least a 22-point font size and BOLDED.” Let’s just add insult to injury here. I am sick of nutrition labels. I know some people may use them in a healthy way, they might. But. But I dont, and I bet half of the people I interact with every day don’t. So many women (and men) have thresholds they do not want to exceed. Calorie thresholds. Trust me, I’ve been there too. Oh, have I been there. But why do we need the calories to be the first thing our eyes are drawn to on this label? Because you know it will be. Even if you don’t want to focus on the numbers, it’s gonna be right there, staring you in the face.


Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s ok to know what we are putting into our bodies, but I also think that nutrition labels play a big role in the foods people choose. Look at it this way; I have a lot of knowledge about food and nutrition (though my dietitian can attest to my lack of macronutrients knowledge). I know all about fads and diets. I know whole, natural foods are really good for a body. I know that “low fat” and “low calorie” doesn’t mean healthy. And yet I still look at the nutrition labels of the foods I eat, even though I don’t really want to. It’s a habit, just like choosing the box that exclaims “low calorie!” on the front, over the kind I really want is a habit.

Thank you, FDA for contributing to the chaos in my brain. I’m sure I’m not the only one who struggles with nutrition labels and obsession. I’m sure I’m not the only one who went through eating disorder recovery, trying to steer clear of “diet” foods and their friendly calorie counts. 

Lots of people probably don’t view this change as a problem. Maybe I am making a mountain out of a molehill. Or maybe not. You tell me.

Leave a Reply

