The wait

I awake at an absurd hour. My mind and body are occupied for a time with work and a steady stream of water. Then the clock hits 11:00, and my shift is done. Sipping steaming tea my stomach is insatiable. 2:00 rolls around and my insides are squirming, begging to be fed and yet defeating the thought. My mouth waters at the idea of a container of yogurt. Lemon. The zing and zap of flavors hits my tongue and I am immediately wanting (needing) more. The hunger has been  momentarily abated.

Leave a Reply

